Remixes and Mashups

I’m not going to lie.  After reading the first article by Melanie McBride, I felt pretty dumb.  She just sounds so smart, and holy crap, I don’t understand half of what she’s trying to say.  I guess the gist of it, is that remixing and mashups are ways of teaching that aren’t always well-liked among school administrations.  Some think that using “original” work from audio and videos to make something new, isn’t actually making anything new at all, but just using someone else’s work without actually using any creativity.  McBride obviously doesn’t feel this is the case, and I agree with her.  Using someone else’s work to create something completely new and different can actually turn out to be much more creative than the original work (as long as you give credit to those who’s work you used in the first place).

The second article by Brian Lamb was much easier to understand and get through.  I definitely do not think that mashups and remixes are any kind of “assault on originality”.  It’s just a completely new type of art, and just like any other type of art, some people don’t understand it.  And that’s totally ok.  Art and originality are in the eye of the beholder.  In my opinion, mashups and remixes are awesome ways to completely transform something old into something new.  It’s not necessarily better, it’s not necessarily more or less original, it’s just something new.   And as everyone has experienced, many people do not like “new”.  I think mashups and remixes are really original and really cool.  I don’t have a lot of experience with mashups, but I have come across a few recently.  Suzanne talked about the band GirlTalk, which takes songs from other bands, and mashes them up into really cool remixes.  Glee has also done a few mashups on the show, which have always been really awesome.  I haven’t really worked with any mashups or remixes with audio or video myself, but our “Five Card Stories” seem to have been a type of mashup.  We used pictures taken by different people, and changed the idea and content of them into something completely new.

I’m really looking forward to the upcoming assignments dealing with remixes and mashups.  I have a feeling some people will come up with really cool stuff, and I think it’ll be fun to play around with!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Osheen
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 22:40:39

    it looks like we’re in the same soup with what Melanie Mc Bride was saying 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

