Rebecca Black and Jenna Rose

Here is my newest video journal! Enjoy!

Also, for everyone’s enjoyment, here is the “My Jeans” Video:

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 05:35:34

    Don’t talk with your mouth full, Scoobs. Learn some manners.

    Also, Rebecca Black is going to be on our warm-up CD. Get pumped.

    Reply

  2. Jim
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 03:15:15

    Couple of things, having Suzanne in the videos as your sidekick is awesome. I love the dynamic between you two, and when you ask he what #3 is, and she is like “I don’t know!” brilliant. Like Johnny Carson and Ed McMahon.

    Also, eating while you do your videos, interesting.

    The jeans video….hmmm, these videos have been all the rage for the last week or two or at least that is when they’ve come on my radar (thanks in large part to the UMW ds106ers—check out this post) and I have to say they fascinate me. They’re very, very bad, sure, but I think that is the whole point. They seem to be trying to be overtly bad and focused on the cheap culture industry that has become the norm over the last two decades or so (with Hannah Montana and the like being the highlight of cheap processed culture industry) wherein we not only have these manufactured bands and stars, but that is all we have. It is almost an acknowledgment of that, a celebration of the junk, a strange acknowledgment that it is all junk, and you are all eating it up, and almost taking issue with it when it has been the steady diet of nothing the culture industry has been feeding us for decades. I think I love these videos just for that, they are “posthegemonic,” in that they no longer need to hide that they are junk produced for mass consumption and a cheap profit, in fact, they revel in it, and we love them because of it. What a strange cultural moment we live in.

    Reply

    • scooby
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 05:01:44

      I definitely agree with this. I had been talking to a few friends about how awful the “Friday” video is, and we were laughing about how the fact that it’s terrible, is exactly what makes it popular. This chick now has almost 30 million views on YouTube and has been on the Today show. It’s crazy! Because people hate her (or her music), she’s become famous, and almost everyone with a computer knows who she is. It just shows that her production company might possibly be brilliant for producing such a terrible song and video. They’re probably rolling in money right now. Crazy world.

      Also, I’ll try not to eat in any more videos. I couldn’t help it though! I was hungry 🙂

      Reply

  3. Catherine
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 01:05:55

    I hope you have seen this video because it is the best part of the Rebecca Black videos:

    http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fbrocksdubs&h=f5603

    Too too too funny.

    Reply

    • scooby
      Mar 25, 2011 @ 04:54:41

      YESSSSSS. My favorite is, “MY HAND IS A DOLPHIN!” and when he yells, “FUN FUN FUN FUN!” in a creepy way.

      Reply

  4. samiam
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 18:00:13

    I had heard about these videos but hadn’t actually seen them until I watched your video and decided I would finally see what was up with them. And all I have to say is…..wow, these music videos are ridiculous. LoL, good video journal, though

    Reply

  5. Chrisb123
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 22:08:13

    Here’s a brand new ark video. Now, has anyone else noticed the obvious formula in these videos?
    http://idolator.com/5810711/ark-factory-alana-lee-butterflies-video

    To comment on what Jim Groom said about us liking things simply because we know they’re processed and we don’t care, I’m going to admit that I love new junk culture. For me, it’s so bad, it’s good. Because really, isn’t it all just subjective anyway? If I find something entertaining, whether its because it’s amazingly done or because its so bad I think it’s funny, i’m entertained either way.

    Reply

    • scooby
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 00:01:34

      That might be the best video/song out of the three of them I’ve seen so far. And by good I mean, creative with moderately ok lyrics.

      I definitely agree, things are entertaining whether they’re actually good, or so bad it’s funny.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

